President declares major disaster for Washington State, Okanogan County

WASHINGTON, DC – The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) today announced that federal disaster assistance has been made available to Washington to supplement state, tribal, and local recovery efforts in the area affected by a severe storm, straight-line winds and flooding on July 20, 2012.

Federal funding is available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storm, straight-line winds, and flooding in Ferry and Okanogan counties and the Confederated Tribes of the Colville Reservation.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures for all counties and tribes within the state.

Kenneth K. Suiso has been named as the Federal Coordinating Officer for federal recovery operations in the affected area. Suiso said additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

U.S. Senators Maria Cantwell and Patty Murray urged Obama to swiftly approve the major disaster declaration, which makes this assistance possible.

FEMA, an agency of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security, can be followed at online at,,, and