Councilman to run against Tonasket Mayor

OKANOGAN — The regular filing week for the upcoming Aug. 1 primary elections ended last Friday and there are several local offices with multiple candidates.

YourVoteCountsIn Tonasket, incumbent mayor Patrick Plumb faces a challenge from Dennis Brown, who currently sits on the council. This is for a four-year term. For Council Position 1, Christa (Teagan) Levine has filed and for Council Position 3, incumbant Jill Ritter has filed. Both candidates will serve four-year terms.

Oroville city government will have a familiar look with incumbent Jon Neal filing for mayor and incumbents Ed Naillon and Anthony “Tony” Koepke seeking returns to their council seats in Position 1 and Position 2, respectively. Naillon will serve a four-year short and full term, while Koepke will serve another four-year term. Robert Fuchs, who has sought office in the past, has filed for Council Position 5, a two-year unexpired term.

Tonasket School District has several candidates who filed for the three open positions on the board. Sharron M. Cox and Kent Clark seek Director District 1, a four-year term. Robert P. Wilson, Clint Duchow, Michael Turnington and Jeff Yeckel, all seek Director District 2, a two-year term. Rene Maldonado, Ernesto Cerrillo and Allen Godwin wish to be elected to Director District 4, a four-year term.

Oroville School District has all incumbents running for reelection as school directors. Kolo Moser seeks Director District 2, a four-year term; Travis Loudon, Director District 3, a four-year term and Mike Egerton, Director District 4 At Large, a four-year term.

North Valley Hospital District (District 4) has two candidates who would like to serve in Commissioner Position 2, a six-year term. Incumbent Clarice Nelson is seeking reelection and Jerry Bradley, also from Tonasket, seeks this commissioner’s seat on the board. There are three candidates for Commissioner Position 4 At Large, a six-year term. They are current board chairperson Helen Casey, as well as Jean Pfeifer and Marylou Kriner. For Commissioner Position 5 At Large, Incumbent Adam Tibbs from Oroville will face off against Matthew “Matt” Alexander from Tonasket for a two-year unexpired term.

Rick Massey is running for Tonasket Parks and Recreation District Commissioner Position 1, a two-year unexpired term. Stacey Kester is running for Commissioner Position 4 and David Stangland for Commissioner Position 5, both four-year terms.

There are also challengers for the two Legislative District 7 positions that are up for election. Longtime State Representative Shelly Short (R-Addy, WA) will face challenger Karen Hardy (D-Valley, WA) for Position 1 in the upcoming August elections and recent Senate appointee Jacquelin Maycumber (R-Colville, WA) will duel it out with Susan Swanson (D-Omak, WA) for the state Senate seat.

A special three-day filing period was held by the Okanogan County Auditor for offices which did not get candidates, none of which were for offices in the Oroville and Tonasket area.

About Gary DeVon

Gary DeVon is the managing editor of the Okanogan Valley Gazette-Tribune and celebrated his 25th year at the newspaper in August 2012. He graduated from Gonzaga University with a degree in Communications - Print Journalism, with an emphasis in photojournalism. He is a proud alumnus of Oroville High School. His family first settled in Okanogan County in the late 1800s. His parents are Judy DeVon and the late Larry DeVon and he has two younger brothers - Dante and Michael. Many family members still call Oroville home. He has a grown daughter, Segornae Douglas and a young granddaughter, Erin.