Detro, Rogers, Groomes, McCormack and Rawson win county elections

OKANOGAN COUNTY – With no ballots left to count it looks like Jim Detro will join Andy Lampe and Bud Hover on the Okanogan County Board of Commissioners and Frank Rogers will continue as county sheriff.

The most recent ballot tally, held Nov. 10, showed no change in results other than some candidates increasing their leads over opponents. Charleen Groomes, Leah McCormack and Henry Rawson also won in their respective races.

According to the Okanogan County Election Results page there are no more ballots to count from the Tuesday, Nov. 2 General Election, although results will not be official until election certification which is scheduled for Tuesday, Nov. 23.

Commissioner-elect Detro, remained at about 60 percent of the total votes with 7,608 over fellow Republican Becky Andrist’s 4,939 for Commissioner in District 3, the northern part of Okanogan County. Detro will take over as commissioner from Mary Lou Peterson who decided not to re-seek election for another term.

Sheriff Rogers maintained a big lead with 9,303 (68 percent) of the ballot to challenger Deputy Dave Yarnell’s 4,280. Both men consider themselves Republicans.

Groomes continued to be favored for county clerk with 61 percent of the vote or 7,608 ballots cast for the Republican. Fellow Republican Rae Jean Kelley had 4,939 ballots in the last count. Groomes will replace longtime clerk Jackie Bradley who is retiring.

The lone Democrat running in a two-person race this election was McCormack, who widened her lead for county treasurer by an additional two percent over Republican Pam Wyllson. McCormack received 8,225 votes, just under 60 percent of those cast, to Wyllson’s 5,601.

In the closest contested race, Henry “Hank” Rawson edged out Rick Weber in the non-partisan election for Okanogan County District Court Judge, Position 2. Rawson led with 6,817 votes cast in his favor, or about 54 percent, to Weber’s 5,877. Rawson will take the place of David Edwards on the bench as Edwards is retiring.

There were several positions on the ballot for county offices where incumbents ran unopposed. Scott D. Furman (D) will return as assessor, Laurie Thomas (R) as auditor, Karl Sloan (D) as prosecuting attorney and Chris Culp (NP) as Okanogan County District Court Judge, Position 1. Ernie Bolz (NP) will return as Okanogan County PUD Commissioner for District 3.

As of the last count, voter turnout of the county’s 20,510 registered voters was 73 percent, according to Okanogan County Elections officials. They say 14,986 ballots were cast in the county’s 221 precincts and that there are no ballots left to count.