Oroville to host district wrestling

OROVILLE – Oroville will be playing host to this year’s District 5/6 North Subregional tournament this weekend.

The opening round, as well as the first consolation round, will take place this Friday, Feb. 6, beginning at 4 p.m. The tournament resumes Saturday morning at 10 a.m. with the championship quarterfinals.

The top four wrestlers from each weight class will advance to next week’s East Regional tournament at Northwest Christian (Colbert) near Spokane. The top five finishers there will earn trips to the state Class 1B/2B tournament at the Tacoma Dome.

Tonasket and Oroville both took part in the league mixer at Kittitas to finalize seeding for the district tournament.

Hornets included in the top four seeds (favored to advance) include Jordan Smith (seeded 4th at 126 pounds), Scott Hartvig (4th, 160) and Charles Arrigoni (3rd, 182). Smith finished third at the state tournament last year.

Zane Scott (185) is seeded fifth and the remainder of the young Oroville squad is seeded seventh or eighth in their respective classes.

Warden comes into the tournament with seven top seeds and 13 in the top four. Tonasket has three top seeds and 14 in the top four, while Liberty Bell has four top seeds and a second seed.

“Anything can and will happen at this level of competition,” said Oroville coach Chuck Ricevuto. “Some competitors are hungrier and healthier than their opponents. You must be ready to defeat someone who beat you during the season and be willing to remove the “Doubt Demon.”

Hornets host senior night

OROVILLE – Oroville’s seniors were honored on Wednesday at the Hornets’ Senior Night, though it won’t be their final home match of their careers.

That’s because Oroville will be hosting the North Sub-district tournament on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 6-7.

But in their final regular home match, senior Jordan Smith (126 pounds) had a pin and senior Leo Curiel (132) picked up two wins by major decision. Senior Andrea Perez was also honored for her four years as manager and stat-keeper.

Other winners for the Hornets were juniors Scott Hartvig (160) and Charles Arrigoni (182) who each earned pins.

Jeff Rounds, Drake Fox Nick Clase and Zane Scott also wrestled.