Fast-paced action at May Fest 3 on 3 Basketball Tourney

By Gary A. DeVon

Managing Editor

OROVILLE – Fifty-three teams took to the courts for this year’s May Festival 3 on 3 Tournament, but only nine would walk away as champions Saturday.

“Everything went real well and the weather was actually great for playing basketball,” said John Neal, co-chairman for the event which is sponsored by the Oroville Booster Club.

“We had 53 teams which was an increase from last year when we had 47… everything went smoothly and everyone was well behaved,” Neal said.

In the Men’s Open 18 teams vied for the championship in their division. Romine Fuel, made up of Jason Romine, Casey Watts, Tony Block and Geoff Miller, were victorious and took home the championship.

The Women’s Open was won by Chelocals, Jessica Graham, Megan Gale, Olivia Larson and Amber Lynch.

The Silent Street Spankers, Felipe Gayton, Jacob Longmire, Toshiya Ijichi and Jordon Bebee, won in the Boy’s High School division.

For the Girl’s High School division it was Tonasket, made up of Jayden Hawkins, Cierra Silverthorn, Rachel Hutchins and Dana Pryor.

Boys 14 & Under was won by the Chick Magnets, CJ Mathews, Tyler Mathews, Kevin Aitheson and John Stedtfeld.

For the Girls 14 & Under it was the Aftershocks, Kelsey Hughes, Madison Hughes, Lucero Cadena and Naomi Peters.

Boys 12 & Under champions was the Ty Olson Construction team of Trevor Terris, Cesar Polito, Dyllan Gage and Luke Kindred.

For Girls 12 & Under the Omak Lady Hawks were champs. On the Lady Hawks are Chandler Smith, Shawnee Covington, Lindsey Hughes and Arian Andrews.

Boys 10 & Under was won by DCJ’s with Charlie Arrigoni, Juan Lopez and Dylan Landon.