Ballots need to be postmarked by Nov. 8

OKANOGAN – Ballots for the primary election need to be postmarked by Nov. 8 to count for next Tuesday’s primary election.

There are several candidates seeking returns to local public office, as well as a few with challengers, especially for the Oroville School Board.

Phil Barker and incumbent Patti Garrett are seeking Position Position 4 on the Oroville School Board for a two-year unexpired term. Rocky DeVon and former board member Timothy Whiteaker are running for Position 5, a four-year term. Christina Rise would like the chance to sit on the board in Position 1, the seat currently held by Tedi Fletcher and Scott Rich is challenging incumbent Amy Wise, for position 3. Both are four-year terms. David Nutt, a former Oroville School Director, is running unopposed for the two-year unexpired term in Position 2.

In other local elections, Tonasket School Directors are running unopposed for the three open positions. Catherine Stangland will keep her seat on the board in Position 2, Ty Olson in Position 3 and Jerry Asmussen in Position 5.

In Tonasket, there is one incumbent with a challenger for the three open city council positions. Current council member Jill Vugtaveen will face off against Ron Martell for Council Position 3. Running unopposed are incumbents Scott Olson for Position 2, Julianna Griffin for Position 4 and Selena Hines for Position 5.

Incumbents are going unchallenged for the three open seats on the Oroville City Council. Edward Naillon seeks a return to Position 3; Walt Hart III to Position 4 and Neysa Roley to Position 5.

Riverside has several positions open in city government. Margie Mefford is the sole candidate for Mayor. Bill Bond and Dana Armstrong are running for Council Position 2 an unexpired two-year term. Arlie Clinkenbeard, the former Okanogan County Commissioner, seeks Position 4 and Chad Booker seeks Council Position 5. Both are four-year terms.

Clarice Nelson is seeking a return to Commissioner Position 2 and Helen Casey is seeking a return to Commissioner Position 4 on the North Valley Hospital District (Okanogan County Hospital District 4) Board.

Several local fire districts also have single candidates looking to serve or return to office as fire commissioners. Robert Ellis is running for fire commissioner for Okanogan County Fire District 1, Position 1; Chuck Everts for County Fire District 7, Position 3; Bill Meyers, County Fire District 11, Position 2; Bob Mann, County Fire District 12, Position 1 and Roger C. Prater, County Fire District 16, Position 3.

Delores Patterson of Oroville is asking the voters to return her as commissioner for Position 1 on the Okanogan County Cemetery District 4 (Riverview Cemetery) board.

Washington State voters have been asked to decide on three initiatives and two amendments to the state constitution. Initiative Measure 1183 is probably the most controversial. If approved the measure would close state liquor stores and allow private parties to sell and distribute hard alcohol, as well as change the regulation of wine distribution.

Initiative 1125 deals with state expenditures on transportation. The measure would prohibit the use of motor vehicle fund revenue and vehicle toll revenue for non-transportation purposes. It would also require that road and bridge tolls be set by the legislature and be project specific.

Initiative 1163 concerns long-term care workers and services for disabled people. The measure would reinstate background checks, training and other requirements for long-term care providers.

Senate Joint Resolution 8205 would remove an inoperative provision of the state constitution regarding the length of time a voter must reside in Washington to vote for president and vice president. Senate Joint Resolution 8206 would amend the state constitution regarding the budget stabilization account maintained by the state treasury.

More on these amendments and the initiative measures can be found in the Washington State Voters Guide which was mailed to registered voters or online at:

The auditors office, 149 3rd Ave N, Okanogan, is open Monday through Friday, 9 a.m to 4 p.m. and on Election Day only from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. to drop off ballots, to obtain replacement ballots and for disability access to voting units. On Election Day only, there will be a drop off site at the Omak City Hall Council Chambers from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Those with questions are encouraged to contact the office at (509) 422-7240.