Speiker wins Can-Am XC Invitational

KETTLE FALLS – Oroville’s Sierra Speiker added another feather to her figurative cap Saturday at the Can-Am Invitational, winning a battle with an Idaho Class 5A runner to claim the full 5k cross country race.

Speiker got past Josie Brown of Couer d-Alene with a time of 19:23 to beat her course best time by 10 seconds. Brown finished third in Idaho last year in the state’s largest classification’s state finals.

Submitted photo
Sierra Speiker won a battle with Idaho’s defending third place Class 5A runner at the Can-Am Invitational in Kettle Falls on Sept. 29.


Also running for the Oroville girls were Callie Barker (46th, 24:48) and Celene Cisneros (84th, 29:40).

Diego Santana (61st, 21:20) and Ronel Kee (74th, 23:58) ran for the Oroville boys.

The Hornets next run in Richland on Saturday, Oct. 6.

 Tonasket results

Tonasket’s boys were led by Oscar Avilez, whom coach Bob Thornton said recorded a 42 second personal record with this 16th place finish in 18:31.

Adrian McCarthy (56th, 20:39), Smith Condon (62nd, 21:30), Lawrence Wambugu (64th, 21:43) and Jordan Hughes (25:10) also competed. Condon set a PR by 1:10, with McCarthy and Hughes running their fastest 5k times of the season.

Jessica Puente (43rd, 24:20) paced the Tiger girls, followed by Giesa Seidler (64th, 26:20), Jenna Valentine (67th, 26:43), Claire Thornton (71st, 27:07 – her season best), and Corrina Karrer (100th, 34:53).

The Tigers are at Lake Roosevelt on Oct. 6.

 Tiger Middle schoolers dominate

Meanwhile, the Tonasket Middle School teams continued their success, with the girls team topping Colville to remain unbeaten on the season and the boys team placing second.

Girls’ times included Camille Wilson (4th, 12:01), Johnna Terris (6th, 12:05.6), Hayley Larson (7th, 12:05.8), Katie Henneman (9th, 12:24), Megan Bolich (13th, 13:17) and Morgan Tyus (14th, 13:42).

Running for the boys were Hunter Swanson (4th, 10:51), Kyle Holborn (6th, 11:19), Jake Wilson (8th, 11:27), Samuel Stranberg (21st, 12:49) and Jamin Truitt (26th, 13:17).