Oroville, Tonasket run at Moses Lake XC meet

Sierra Speiker wins third straight title

Diego santana was the only boy to run for Oroville on Saturday at Moses Lake.

MOSES LAKE – Oroville’s Sierra Speiker won her third straight title at the Moses Lake Invitational on Saturday, Sept. 15, to highlight

performances by the Hornets and Tonasket at the first major meet of the season.

Speiker finished the full 5k course with a time of 19:09 to win by 23 seconds over Riverside’s Delaney McMahon.

Also running for the Oroville girls were Lisa Hartvig (85th, 26:32), Aya Cruspero (109th, 32:05) and Celene Cisneros (110th, 32:34). Cruspero and Cisneros cut two minutes off their times from the Tonasket Invitational a week earlier despite the Moses Lake course being about 200 meters longer.

With only four girls running, Oroville was not able to score as a team.

Tonasket’s girls finished 14th of 15 scoring teams. Jessica Puente led the way with a 60th place finish

Aya Cruspero (front) and Celene Cisneros both improved on last week’s times despite running a longer course at Moses Lake on Sept. 15.

(24:07). Also finishing were Giesa Seidler (85th, 27:48), Vanessa Pershing (98th, 28:58), Claire Thornton (100th, 29:03) and Corrina Karrer (112th, 35:39).

For the Tonasket boys, Oscar Avilez finished 52nd (18:35) to lead the Tigers. Adam Halvorsen (82nd, 19:41), Adrian McCarthy (107th,

20:48), Smith Condon (116h, 21:45), Lawrence Wambug (124th, 22:52) and Abe Podkranic (128th, 25:34) also ran the varsity race, while Jordan Hughes (130th, 25:56) and Dallin Good (139th, 27:33) ran the freshman / sophomore JV race.

Diego Santana (120th, 22:20) was the lone Oroville male to run.

Tonasket also had 10 middle school runners compete, led by Hunter Swanson (5th, 10:06) for the boys and Myhe Williams (2nd, 10:50) for the girls on the 1.5 mile course.