Oroville graduates OHS Class of 2011

<p class=MsoNormal align=right style='text-align:right' data-src=

OROVILLE – Commencement ceremonies for the Oroville High School Class of 2011 were held at the Coulton Auditorium last Saturday, June 4 at 2 p.m.

Thirty-nine young graduates were set forth upon their new journey with 100 percent of the graduating class embarking on further educational opportunities in their post-high school years.

This year’s co-valedictorians were Jayden Smith and Connor Thompson. Thompson was also awarded the coveted Glover Cup, a silver cup that is given to the student that most reflects good citizenship amongst his classmates.

After 39 graduating seniors entered the auditorium in a processional to Pomp and Circumstance, the high school band played the national anthem. Senior Preston Iverson gave the introduction and senior Reinna Quick gave the invocation. After the Prinicipal’s Presentation by outgoing principal Patricia Scott, Smith and Thompson shared the Valedictory Address. The guest speaker for the evening was teacher and coach Tam Hutchinson, who was introduced by Seniors Brandy Range and Charles DeMartino.

As is often the tradition at the Oroville graduation, a slide show was presented showing the students through the years – many comparing pictures of when they were toddlers and how they are now. The slide show was created by Senior Cheyanne Sharpe.

After a short history of the award, Superintendent Steve Quick made the presentation of the Glover Cup to Thompson and Maria Griffin read the list of scholarships that were awarded the previous night.

The following are the scholarships awarded through the Dollars for Scholars and from other sources:

Yulah and Philip Schleif Award, $700, Connor Thompson; Yulah and Philip Schleif Award, $900, Rienna Quick and Taylor Sarmiento; Ray and Eula Forney-Kuntz Award, $700, Cheyanne Sharpe; Eula Forney- Kuntz Award, $400, Jacob Whiteaker; Eula Forney-Kuntz Award, $300, Brittany Buckmiller; Sara Hulphers Memorial, $300, Hayley Gerkan; Glenn and Katherine Tracy Award, $300; Janet Curiel; William Schildgen Award, $1000, Lacy Forrester and Brandy Range; Dollars for Scholars Award, $300, Hayley Gerken; Dollars for Scholars Award, $100, Jacob Whiteaker; Wenatchee Valley Family Medical, $350, Connor Thompson; Dr. Steiner, $1500, Jayden Smith; Ed King Award, $100, Brittany Buckmiller and Janet Curiel; Bishop Fleet Foundation, $2500, Jayden Smith and Connor Thompson; Lloyd Hughes Memorial Scholarship, $1000, Connor Thompson; Molson Grange, $500; Connor Thompson; Aurora Masonic Lodge #201, $500, Connor Thompson and Jayden Smith; Oroville Booster Club Elaine Johnson Scholarship, $500, Catie Arrigoni and Connor Thompson; Oroville Coaches Association, $125, Preston Iverson and Catie Arrigoni; Oroville Eagles Auxiliary, $1000, Cheyanne Sharpe and Taylor Sarmiento; Oroville Education Association, Connor Thompson and Jayden Smith; Oroville Women’s Club, $500, Jayden Smith; Okanogan Masonic Lodge #169 Herbert and Elizabeth Davis Scholarship, $400, Cheyanne Sharpe; Roberta Patterson Stowe, $500, Jayden Smith; Detlef Schrempf Foundation Tara L. Allen Scholarship, $1500; Amanda Mcallister; Oroville American Legion Auxiliary, $500, Brittany Buckmiller, Hayley Gerkin, Taylor Sarmiento and Cheyanne Sharpe; North Valley Community Health Association Foundation, $400, Taylor Sarmiento; M.S. Society, $3000, Lacey Forrester; Wenatchee Valley Medical Center, $3000, Sarah Knight; Central Washington “B” League Scholar Athlete Award, Taylor Sarmiento, Cheyanne Sharpe, Jayden Smith and Connor Thompson; EWU Presidential Scholarship, $2500, Jayden Smith; Terry Taylor Award, Catie Arrigoni; Presidents Education Award-Gold, Jayden Smith, Connor Thompson and Lisa Johnson; Presidents Education Award-Silver, Hayley Gerken, Rienna Quick, Brandy Range, Carly Hicks, Janet Curiel, Cheyanne Sharpe and Taylor Sarmiento; Air Force Recruiting Service-Math and Science Award, Connor Thompson and Reinna Quick; DAR Good Citizen Program Award, Jayden Smith.

This year’s class motto is “In growing, we have found friendship. In learning, we have shared knowledge. In pride, we have left memories.”

Diplomas were presented by School Directors Tedi Fletcher and Amy Wise to Diana Alcantara-Leon, Pablo Antonio, Catherine Arrigoni, R. Alex Beltran, Brittany Buckmiller, Davis Castillo, Tyler Clark, Brett Clough, Janet Curiel, Ronnie Davis, Charles DeMatino, Lacey Forester, Hayley Gerkan, Ashley Glover, Kimber Grunst, Nathan Haney, Cody Hartman, Tyler Herrera, Carly Hicks, Preston Iverson, Lisa Johnson, Sarah Knight, Zelfa Lopez, R. Amanda McAllister, Ryan Morrison, Haily Naclerio, Elizabeth Placencio, Reinna Quick, Brandy Range, Kyndra Riles Robinson, Russell Rounds, Jr.. Jesus Ruvalcaba-Delgado Jr., Taylor Sarmiento, Cheyanne Shapre, Jayden Smith, Connor Thompson, Dereck Tucker, J. Jose Valasco and Jacob Whiteaker.