Three-way race for Tonasket Mayor’s seat

OKANOGAN – With Patrick Walter calling it quits, three candidates have filed for a four-year term as Tonasket Mayor – two with council experience and the third a newcomer to Tonasket government.

Joyce Fancher, a Tonasket teacher, currently serves on the city council and is the wife of former Tonasket Mayor Tom Fancher. Patrick Plumb is a former councilman for Tonasket and works for North Valley Hospital. The third candidate is Eric D. Griffin.

Jean E. Ramsey is seeking reelection to Tonasket City Council in Position 1. The nonpartisan position is for a four-year term. Connie Maden will also ask voters to return her to the council, in Position 3, for a four-year short and full term.

In Oroville some familiar names will appear on the ballot, all seeking reelection. C.F. “Chuck” Spieth is asking for another four years as Oroville’s mayor. Jon Neal is running for a return with a four-year term in Council Position 1; Anthony Koepke wants a return for four years to Position 2 and Ed Naillon will seek reelection to Position 3 for a two-year unexpired term.

In Riverside Margie Mefford is running for reelection as mayor for a two-year unexpired term. Catrina Fling wants a four-year short and full term in the Position 1 on the council in a seat which had been vacant. Kathy Armstrong is running for Postion 2 on the city council for a four-year short and full term. Billy Armstrong asks a return to Council Position 3 for a four-year short and full term. Bill Bond is running for reelection to Position 5 for a two-year unexpired term.

An incumbent and a newcomer wants to serve on Oroville’s School Board. Phil Barker, a vocal attendee at past board meetings, is running for School Director Position 4 for a four-year term. Incumbent Tim Whiteaker, who was appointed to the board, is running for School Director Position 5 in a two-year unexpired term. Longtime board members Verle Rowton (Position 2) and Jerry Nelson (Position 4) did not file for reelection.

Incumbents seek returns to the Tonasket School Board. Lloyd Caton wishes to remain for another four years in School Director Position 1 as does Ernesto Cerrillo in School Director Position 4.

Several incumbent Fire District Commissioners want to remain in office. Ken Ripley is running for Oroville’s Rural Fire District, Okanogan County District 1; Ron Hirst wants a return to Okanogan County Fire District 1 in Tonasket in Position 3; Chris Williams to Position 2 for the Loomis Rural Fire Department, Okanogan County Fire District 10; Steve Leslie Commissioner Position 1 for Okanogan Fire District 11, Molson-Chesaw and Patty Ekenes, for Commissioner Position 3, for Okanogan County Fire District 12, Havillah. For Riverside, Margaret “Maggie” Williamson wants voters to elect her to the Riverside Fire Department, Okanogan County Fire District 7, for a position currently held by John Dow. All these fire district commissioner positions are for six-year terms.

John Minyard will run for reelection as Cemetery District Commissioner Position 2 for a six-year term for Oroville’s Riverview Cemetery.

About Gary DeVon

Gary DeVon is the managing editor of the Okanogan Valley Gazette-Tribune and celebrated his 25th year at the newspaper in August 2012. He graduated from Gonzaga University with a degree in Communications - Print Journalism, with an emphasis in photojournalism. He is a proud alumnus of Oroville High School. His family first settled in Okanogan County in the late 1800s. His parents are Judy DeVon and the late Larry DeVon and he has two younger brothers - Dante and Michael. Many family members still call Oroville home. He has a grown daughter, Segornae Douglas and a young granddaughter, Erin.

Commenting Rules

We encourage an open exchange of ideas in our online community, but we ask you to follow our guidelines for respecting community standards. In a nutshell, don't say anything you wouldn't want your mother to read. Please see our FAQ if you have questions or concerns about using Facebook to comment.

So keep your comments civil, smart, on-topic and free of profanity.

We ask that all participants own their words by logging in with their Facebook account. It's a simple process that will take seconds and helps keep our comments free of trolls, cranks, and "drive-by" commenters. We reserve the right to remove comments from anyone using screen names, pseudonyms or false identities. Please refer to our Terms of Use for full detail on participating on our site.
No comments yet.

Leave a Reply