Viet Nam vet carves out a new life

GT-FR-Ken-Fulford-cabin-30
Ken Fulford built his log home despite a number of misadventures, including a two-year delay in getting his logs delivered and a fall from the second floor that left him feeling lucky to be alive. Brent Baker/staff photo

Ken Fulford faces PTSD, life issues with humor, ingenuity

TONASKET – The outcast military veteran living alone in the mountains is almost as much a part of Pacific Northwest folklore as the Sasquatch.

But in Okanogan County, the off-the-grid veteran is quite real.

Some live in isolation by choice. Others find withdrawal from society the only way to carve out a life in a world that only now seems to be learning how to accept and cope with the damage Viet Nam wrought on those who physically survived the conflict.

The living hell that was Nam came home with many who served there, and Ken Fulford was no exception.

“Yeah, I’m a Viet Nam veteran,” Fulford said. “I have issues and I’ve had issues.

“I filed (with the VA) in ’84 and wasn’t allowed my retirement until 2003. It’s just the way the VA works. I was honorably discharged Feb. 2, 1980. I spent six years as a US Navy Reserve.

“I filed knowing I was having some problems. For one thing I liked to stay drunk all the time. And I had nightmares a lot. My lady friend and I were fighting all the time. Money became an issue. All of the normal things of life became hurdles.”

Fulford now lives in a self-built solar-powered log cabin on Mt. Hull, in the center of what can be a “wild west” environment. He not only knows the Okanogan Sheriff’s deputies by name, he likewise can identify the voices of each of the county dispatchers. He even willed his property to the Sheriff’s department a few years ago.

His only connection to the “grid,” as it were, is a phone line. Hard-wired, not cell.